Athlete in Profile: Regan Hollioake

With a background in competitive swimming Regan has the discipline and the drive, but doesn’t take herself seriously, doesn’t know where her nickname came from, and doesn’t mind a glass of red! 😉 New to the CPC team, Regan has already seen performance gains in a short period of time, not to mention is already happier and enjoying her training so much more. We look forward to seeing what’s to come!

Name: Regan Hollioake

Nickname: I usually get Ree (no explanation needed!) or Gally of the Fam. I couldn’t even tell you where that one came from though! (CPC: that needs some further investigation!!) 😉

Age / Age Group: 30-34 a couple more years left in this one 😉

Lives: Nathalia, Vic

Targeted Sport: Triathlon

Years in the Sport: 3

How did you get started: I went to watch my partner, Wade, race for the first time at the Batemans Bay 70.3 a few years ago. I found it to be a very long day on the sidelines and made the decision then to give a triathlon a crack. We both signed up or the Geelong 70.3 together a few months later. With beginners luck I came in quicker on the day and he hasn’t raced a triathlon ever since haha! From then on in I was hooked.

Why I choose CPC: In the past, I have been intimidated by the intensity of some of the Triathlon Die Hards I’ve come across, which has prevented me from getting a coach to this date. I was training on my own with absolutely no method or plan. This was fine initially as I had some pretty good results straight off the bat but found my performance plateaued pretty quickly. I was drawn to Sarah’s balanced approach to training, racing and life and respect for athletes wellbeing as a whole to drive performance. I have only been with Sarah for a few weeks but I’ve found myself to be an overall happier, healthier and better athlete for it already and am so excited for what is to come!

What I ‘get’ from my sport: Being a competitive swimmer growing up taught me the value of discipline, dedication and commitment, resilience and time management that have shaped me into the person I am today. Triathlon, and its community, has now replicated this as an adult and provides me with an opportunity to switch off from life’s stressors, improve my health and wellbeing, satisfy my competitive streak and socialise with a like minded bunch a crazies who give up their Sunday mornings to swim, ride and run!!

Ultimate Goal:  Complete at full Ironman (fingers crossed for Busso in December!)

What I couldn’t live without: Good food and (the occasional) glass of red wine!

Biggest love: My family, friends and Fur babies

Pet peeve!: People who cant park within the lines or unnecessarily back into car spaces holding up traffic

Interesting fact about me: My first job at 15 years old was as a taste tester for McCain foods. I haven’t had such job satisfaction since haha! (CPC: ha! this is the best! )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *